Books/Literature — Wilton Library
137 Old Ridgefield Road Wilton, CT 06897 Tel: 203-762-3950

Books/Literature

Biography Reference Bank: ICONN database offering the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical context of Junior Authors & Illustrators.  Contains biographical full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals–providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Biography Reference Center:  ICONN database offering a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.  Provides superior coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography.  Contains more than 461,000 full-text biographies.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Contemporary Literary Criticism Online: Access to extensive biographical and critical information combined with subject-term accessibility and other powerful search options. Search by author name, title, subject. This database contains all the information contained in the “brown books” in the reference area! You can now perform one search that will cover all volumes in the series. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

Literature Criticism Online: Access to extensive biographical and critical information combined with subject-term accessibility and other powerful search options. Search by author name, title, subject. Literature Criticism Online contains full-text access to Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. This database contains all the information contained in the “brown books” in the reference area! You can now perform one search that will cover all volumes in all three series. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism: Access to commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Also contains information on major literary movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. This database contains all the information contained in the “brown books” in the reference area! You can now perform one search that will cover all volumes in the series. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–Elementary Schools:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, and more.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethicity, health, history, life skills, music, science, sports, and technology.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–High School:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 2,700 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, and civics.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethnicity, health, history, life skills, science, sports, technology, and women.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Nonfiction Book Collection–Middle Schools:  ICONN database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,200 popular nonfiction books.  The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, and technology.  Subjects include adventure, biographies, careers, civics, disabilities, ethnicity, health, history, life skills, science, sports, technology, and women.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]

Novelist: Book lists, reading recommendations, discussion guides, book reviews, author biographies and more. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism: Presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and non-fiction writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights and literary theorists, of 1900 to 1999–the era most frequently studied in high school. Also contains information on major literary movements, trends and other topics. This database contains all the information contained in the “brown books” in the reference area! You can now perform one search that will cover all volumes in the series. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards -- if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]

If you’re doing research for your book group, don’t miss our collection of resources to help you prepare for a book discussion.