Journals, Magazines and Newspapers — Wilton Library
137 Old Ridgefield Road Wilton, CT 06897 Tel: 203-762-3950

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

To see which magazines are available in the library or in the many databases we subscribe to, you can use our periodical title searches.
Academic Search Premier: ICONN database containing articles from full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources. Covers major areas of academic research including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary science and more. Contains more than 4,700 full-text journals. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
America’s News (NewsBank): With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards--if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]
The Christian Science Monitor: ICONN database (ProQuest) containing full-text coverage of The Christian Science Monitor. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Connecticut Digital Collections: ICONN database offering Connecticut History Online, a digital collection of over 15,000 digital primary sources; Connecticut State Library’s Digital Collections, a collection of materials from the Connecticut State Library and the State Archives, including court documents, law and legal materials, photographs, farms, roads, bridges and more; Newspapers of Connecticut, a sample collection of historical newspapers covering the various regions, perspectives and topics of the Civil War era in Connecticut, including the Connecticut War Record from 1863-1865; and Treasures of Connecticut Libraries, a collection of more than 1,500 items from Connecticut libraries and partnering institutions, including Civil War letters, historical photographs, postcards, pamphlets, films and more. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
EBSCO MasterFILE Elite: EBSCO general magazine index. Contains full text for more than 1,000 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.  This database also contains full text for more than 50 reference books and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps, and flags.  Includes full text of Consumer Reports back to 1/1/1991; Consumer Reports Buying Guide back to 1/1/1999; Consumer Reports on Health back to 1/1/1992 and Consumer Reports Travel Letter back to 1/1/1997.  [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards--if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center): ICONN database providing access to educational literature and resources. Includes more than 337,000 full-text documents. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
GreenFILE: This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Content includes full text for more than 9,100 records. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Hartford Courant: ICONN database (ProQuest) containing full-text coverage of the Hartford Courant (for the Hartford Courant Historical (1764-1922, click here). [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Los Angeles Times: ICONN database (ProQuest) containing full-text coverage of the Los Angeles Times. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
MainFile: ICONN database containing coverage for more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires. This database also includes over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias.
MasterFile Premier: ICONN database containing full text for thousands of general reference magazines (including Consumer Reports) and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, and more. Contains nearly 1,700 full-text periodicals; over 935,000 photos, maps, and flags; over 81,900 primary source documents; and more than 500 full-text reference books.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
MAS Ultra–School Edition: Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for hundreds of popular high school magazines covering a wide-range of subject areas including history, science, careers and much more.  Includes America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil WarTimes, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II and more.  All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.  Content includes nearly 500 full-text magazines; more than 360 reference books; over 79,700 biographies; over 81,900 primary source documents; and over 960,000 photos, maps & flags, and color PDFs.  [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Middle Search Plus: This database contains full text for a variety of popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level. Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books such as the Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals, and thousands of photos, maps, and flags. Content includes more than 150 full-text periodicals; over 131,000 full-text biographies; and over 81,900 primary source documents. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
The New York Times: ICONN database (ProQuest) containing full-text coverage of The New York Times. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Newspaper Source Plus: ICONN database providing more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 39 million full-text articles. Contains AP (Associated Press); Business Wire; CNN Wire; PR Wire; UPI (United Press International); Xinhua (China); ABC News (American); ABC (Australian); CBC (Canadian); CBS News; CNBC; CNN; CNN International; FOX News; MSNBC; National Public Radio; PBS. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Primary Search: ICONN database containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator. Features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Animals, and American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Professional Development Collection: ICONN database containing full text for more than 500 high quality education journals, including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, and School Library Journal. Content includes 745 Abstracted and indexed journals, 508 full-text journals, 537 Peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals, 339 Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, 230 educational reports. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Referencia Latina: ICONN database offering content from a variety of sources including thousands of encyclopedia entries, an inclusive collection of images, an atlas, health reports, a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Daily updates ensure availability of the most current articles from a dozen prominent newspapers from 10 Latin American countries such as: El Comercio (Peru), El Mercurio (Chile), El Tiempo (Columbia), El Universal (Mexico), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nacional (Venezuela), La Nacion (Argentina), and La Nacion (Costa Rica). [ICONN database available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.
Searchasaurus: ICONN database for elementary school students.  Search interface provides access to information from magazines and books on many topics.  Contains more than 80 full-text elementary school magazines.  Includes Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Encyclopedia of Animals.  Provides thousands of photos, maps, and flags.  Lexile reading levels assigned to full-text articles.  containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines.  Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator.  Features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, The Encyclopedia of Animals, and American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Student Research Center:  ICONN database is designed for students in grades 6 through 12.  Students can easily pre-determine which content sources (magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, etc.) will be included in their search.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
TOPICsearch:  ICONN database in which students researchers, teachers, and librarians can explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.  Content includes biographies, book reviews, government information, pamphlets, periodicals, public opinion polls, and international newspapers.   [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Wall Street Journal: ICONN database with coverage from 1984 to the present. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Washington Post: ICONN database with coverage from 1987 to the present. [Available to all Connecticut residents with current public library cards.]
Wilton Bulletin: Online full-text version of The Wilton Bulletin. Coverage begins on April 24, 2003. You may search this database remotely by entering your Wilton Library Card barcode. If you need articles prior to this date, you may search the Library’s Wilton Bulletin Index which will tell you the issue the article is in (we can then photocopy the article for you). [Available to Wilton residents with current Wilton Library cards--if you are a Wilton resident in need of a card, stop by the library.]